chakras illustration

Energy Healing – Understanding Chakras


In Sanskrit the word chakra means wheel or disc. There are seven main chakras in the body which act as energy centers and direct energy around your body. If the chakras are unbalanced or blocked, the energy cannot travel through the body properly, leaving you more prone to illness and potentially resulting in low energy and depression. Reiki is used to realign the chakras and restore the body’s natural flow of energy.

The 7 Chakras

Base or Root Chakra – Muladhara

root chakra position on the bodyResting at the bottom of your spine, the root chakra is the closest to the earth. It is responsible for keeping us grounded and feeling physically and emotionally secure.

Sacral Chakra – Svadhistana

sacral chakra position on the bodyBelow your belly button, just above your pubic bone, lies the sacral chakra. Physically it is responsible for our genitals, kidney and bladder. Emotionally it is responsible for our feelings of self worth, pleasure, creativity and sexuality.

Solar Plexus Chakra – Manipura

solar plexus charkra position on the bodyLocated around your upper abdomen and stomach lies the solar plexus chakra. Physically this chakra controls our digestive system. It is the chakra of our personal power and controls our self-esteem and confidence.

Heart Chakra – Anahata

heart chakra position on the bodyThe heart chakra lies in the center of your chest. On a physical level it keeps our hearts strong and controls our immune and circulatory systems. Emotionally this chakra handles our ability to love and connect with others. When this chakra is out of balance you often feel lonely, insecure and isolated.

Throat Chakra – Vishuddha

throat chakra position on the bodyThe throat chakra is our communication chakra and deals with our power of speech. When it is properly aligned you will speak with confidence because you know you are being true to yourself with your words, and you will speak and listen with compassion.

Third Eye Chakra – Ajna

third eye chakra position on the bodyLocated in the center of your forehead the third eye chakra handles our intuition and imagination. A well-balanced third eye enables you to see the big picture. When this chakra is unbalanced physical symptoms often include headaches or an inability to concentrate.

Crown Chakra – Sahasrara

crown chakra position on the bodyThe crown chakra is found at the very top of your head. It governs our central nervous system and connects us to God and the universe. There is no intellectual knowing at this chakra, only a feeling of connectedness to everyone and everything around us. It associated with spirituality and a sense of life’s deeper meaning.

Why are the Chakras different colors?

You may have noticed the chakras were all represented by a different color, each one being a color in the rainbow. The chakras all radiate from their point of origin and blend with the chakras on either side and form the entire color spectrum.

Colors are part of light and light is made up of vibrating energy. Energy vibrates at different speeds which is how the different colors are produced. Lower speeds of vibrations produce the colors at the bottom of the rainbow and higher speeds produce the colors at the top of the rainbow. When you look at the chakras you see that the lower speed of vibrations are lower in the body than the higher ones.

If you hear someone say they need to raise their vibration they are talking about expanding their energy field to bring about a sense of lightness, connectedness, and joy.

Realign your Chakras

When the energy flow of your body is disrupted you can suffer from any number of physical or emotional conditions. Reiki allows a practitioner to direct energy through the body, resetting the chakras and allowing your natural energy flow to regain its intended path and heal your body from within.

Book a Session

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may be interested in....